AAN News

Four Alt-Weekly Writers Among 2012 Livingston Finalists

Timothy Bolger, Katrina Longworth, Terrence McCoy, and Patrick Michels are finalists for the Livingston Awards for Young Journalists. (FULL STORY)
Livingston Awards  |  04-25-2013  4:03 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

The Coast Nominated for Prestigious Michener Awardnew

The Michener Award is one of the highest honors in Canadian journalism.
Michener Awards  |  04-25-2013  1:42 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Four Alt-Weeklies Win SPJ Sigma Delta Chi Awards

The Colorado Springs Independent, Houston Press, Miami New Times and The Texas Observer have each won Sigma Delta Chi Awards from the national Society of Professional Journalists. (FULL STORY)
SPJ  |  04-23-2013  3:15 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Creative Loafing Tampa Celebrating 25 Years And Still Going Strong

Creative Loafing Tampa celebrates its 25th Anniversary this week and to commemorate they have planned a week's worth of festivities highlighting the eventful history of the publication. (FULL STORY)
CL Tampa  |  04-19-2013  4:30 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Long Island Press Wins 23 New York Press Association Awardsnew

On the strength of its Hurricane Sandy coverage, the paper picked up eleven first-place honors, including the award for Editorial Excellence.
Long Island Press  |  04-12-2013  2:25 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Former Seattle Weekly Editor Wins Bert Greene Award

Mike Seely has won a Bert Greene Award in the Writing About Beverages category for his 2012 Seattle Weekly cover story, "Murray Stenson's Accidental Tourists." (FULL STORY)
Seattle Weekly  |  04-11-2013  11:28 am  |  Honors & Achievements

City Pulse Story Prompts Lansing Mayor to Request Additional Resources for Cold Cases

Lansing Mayor Virg Bernero tells City Pulse: "After reading your article and talking to the chief and the captains, I concluded that we weren't doing enough." (FULL STORY)
City Pulse  |  04-09-2013  2:30 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

The Coast Nominated for Two Atlantic Journalism Awardsnew

Sam Littlefair-Wallace is a finalist in the Feature Writing category. Tim Bousquet is nominated for Enterprise Reporting.
Atlantic Journalism Awards  |  04-09-2013  10:30 am  |  Honors & Achievements

W. Kim Heron to be inducted into Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame

The former Metro Times editor will be inducted along with four other distinguished journalists during a ceremony at Michigan State University. (FULL STORY)
Metro Times  |  04-03-2013  11:58 am  |  Honors & Achievements

City Pages Reporter Andy Mannix Wins GLAAD Awardnew

"Game Changer," a profile of Minnesota Vikings punter Chris Kluwe, won the GLAAD award for Outstanding Newspaper Article.
GLAAD  |  03-19-2013  1:20 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Environmental Health News Series Recognized with Oakes Award Honorable Mentionnew

The EHN series, "Pollution, Poverty, People of Color," earned an Honorable Mention in the competition for the John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism.
EHN  |  03-19-2013  10:42 am  |  Honors & Achievements

Chicago Reader, Dallas Observer, Village Voice Receive James Beard Nominations

Mike Sula, Alice Laussade, and Tejal Rao are finalists for the 2013 James Beard Foundation Journalism Awards. (FULL STORY)
Food Writing  |  03-18-2013  4:57 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Seven Days Named as One of Ten Newspapers 'That Do It Right' by E&Pnew

Vermont's Seven Days has earned a spot on Editor & Publisher's annual "10 Newspapers That Do It Right" list.
Editor & Publisher  |  03-04-2013  5:06 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Washington City Paper Reporter Volunteers as Washington Post Ombudsmannew

Washington City Paper staff writer Will Sommer has named Will Sommer as the next ombudsman of the Washington Post.
Washington City Paper  |  03-04-2013  4:00 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Tom Tomorrow Wins Herblock Prize for Editorial Cartooningnew

This Modern World creator Dan Perkins said he is "very pleased that the genre of alt-weekly cartoons is increasingly being recognized."
Herb Block Foundation  |  03-04-2013  12:45 pm  |  Honors & Achievements