AAN News

Alt-Weekly Book Reviewers Are Meannew

Susan Cohen of Charleston City Paper and Harry Siegel of the New York Press are named "the worst of the worst."
Huffington Post  |  09-24-2010  4:39 pm  |  Honors & Achievements  |  Comments (1)

Alt-Weekly Writers Pick Up Several Food Journalism Awardsnew

Gus Garcia-Roberts (Miami New Times) and Hanna Raskin (Mountain Xpress) both snagged first place honors.
Association of Food Journalists  |  09-08-2010  10:36 am  |  Honors & Achievements

Mike Lacey, Phoenix New Times Honored By SPJnew

The national Society of Professional Journalists has named Michael Lacey, Stephen Lemons and Paul Rubin as recipients of the New America Award for a series that ran in Phoenix New Times.
Society of Professional Journalists  |  09-01-2010  12:11 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Two Clarion Awards for VVM Writersnew

Association for Women in Communications  |  08-04-2010  5:14 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Better Format-Busting Through Public Recordsnew

Arizona State's Reynolds Center for Business Journalism has put its spotlight on the Santa Fe Reporter's AltWeekly Award winning project, "Where's the Money," which attempts to uncover the wealthiest individuals in Santa Fe, N.M.
The Reynolds Center  |  07-21-2010  11:52 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Long Island Press Honored with Multiple Awards

The Long Island Press brought home seventeen awards at the Long Island chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists' 2010 Media Awards dinner. The Press earned honors in virtually every category of the competition. (FULL STORY)
Press Club of Long Island SPJ / Fair Media Council  |  07-14-2010  10:05 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Honolulu Weekly Picks Up Two SPJ Awards

Honolulu Weekly walked away from the Hawaii Chapter SPJ's 2009 Excellence in Journalism Awards dinner with two honors. Ragnar Carlson won first place in the General News/Enterprise Reporting category for his article, "Malaekahana-ville," and Adrienne LaFrance was a finalist in the Feature Writing Category.
Hawaii Society of Professional Journalists  |  07-07-2010  3:24 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

East Bay Express Grabs Eleven Awards in East Bay Press Club Contest

East Bay Express went home with eleven awards at the East Bay Press Club’s 2009 Excellence in Print Journalism Contest last week. Five awards were for first place: Stephen Buel won for best page design, Kathleen Wentz took first in the investigative reporting category, Robert Gammon received two first place awards for best columnist and best analysis, and Rachel Swan won the top prize in the profile category.
East Bay Express  |  06-30-2010  4:51 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Fort Worth Weekly, Houston Press Are Big Winners in Lone Star Awards

Four AAN papers dominated the Houston Press Club's Lone Star Awards last week. The big winners were Fort Worth Weekly with eleven awards, five of them for first place; and Houston Press which received ten awards, four for first place. Dallas Observer also had a great showing, taking home four first place honors and seven total awards on the night. San Antonio Current picked up four awards, taking first place in the small-circ news or feature story category.

Individuals receiving multiple awards included Betty Brink (Fort Worth Weekly), Peter Gorman (Fort Worth Weekly), Eric Griffey (Fort Worth Weekly), Greg Harman (San Antonio Current), Paul Knight (Houston Press), Craig Malisow (Houston Press), Sam Merten (Dallas Observer), Jim Schutze (Dallas Observer), Chris Vogel (Houston Press), and Richie Whitt (Dallas Observer). (FULL STORY)
Houston Press Club  |  06-29-2010  4:52 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Four Alt-Weeklies Among SoCal Journalism Awards Winners

The Los Angeles Press Club held its annual SoCal Journalism Awards last night and four AAN papers went home with honors. (FULL STORY)
Los Angeles Press Club  |  06-28-2010  5:48 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Three SF Bay Area AAN Papers Pick Up Awardsnew

Palo Alto Weekly was a big winner at the San Francisco Peninsula Press Club's annual awards dinner on Saturday. Competing in the Non-Daily division, the paper took home three first-place awards (General Excellence, Technology Story, Entertainment Review) and received nine honors overall. San Francisco Bay Guardian picked up two first-place awards (Editorial, News/Political Column) and four overall; and SF Weekly was also a first-place winner in two categories (Light Feature Story, Serious Feature Story).
San Francisco Peninsula Press Club  |  06-22-2010  1:10 pm  |  Honors & Achievements

Two Alt-Weeklies Pick Up a Dozen Florida SPJ Awardsnew

The Society of Professional Journalists announced the winners of its 2010 Sunshine State Awards earlier this month. Miami New Times won seven awards, including six first-place wins -- in the Light Feature Reporting, Religion Reporting, Medical/Health Care/Science Reporting, Serious Feature Reporting, Food/Beverage Writing and International Reporting categories. Creative Loafing won five awards, including a first-place finish in the Criticism category
Society of Professional Journalists, South Florida Chapter (PDF)  |  06-14-2010  10:53 am  |  Honors & Achievements

Westword Receives Award for its Medical Marijuana Coveragenew

The Denver alt-weekly received a "press vape" award for the best medical marijuana coverage of last year at the Colorado Cannabis Caregiver's Cup this weekend. Timothy Tipton, owner of the Rocky Mountain Caregivers Cooperative and organizer of the Cup, says Westword has excelled at covering "the medical marijuana community from a political standpoint, as well as making extra efforts to do reviews ... and provide service to the community."
Westword  |  06-03-2010  10:51 am  |  Honors & Achievements