Seven New Members Admitted to AAN

june 8, 2003  06:44 pm
At their annual meeting in Pittsburgh on Sunday, AAN members admitted seven papers to the association and elected nine board members for the coming year.

Four of the new member papers received an enthusiastic endorsement from the Admissions Committee and were elected on the first ballot, including The Coast of Halifax, Nova Scotia, which earned a committee vote of 11-0 in its favor. The Coast, which is co-owned by former Montreal Mirror publisher Catherine Salisbury, becomes AAN's sixth Canadian member.

The three other new members that received a thumbs-up from the committee as first-time applicants were San Diego CityBeat.; Long Island Press of Garden City, N.Y.; and Pointblank of Des Moines, Iowa. CityBeat is owned by Southland Publishing, which also owns AAN members Ventura County Reporter and Pasadena Weekly.

Although the Admissions Committee was undecided on their recommendations, Boston’s Weekly Dig and Jackson Free Press of Jackson, Miss., were also admitted on the first ballot

For the seventh paper admitted this year, the road to the promised land was a little more difficult. On the first ballot, Maui Time Weekly earned another vote after receiving a simple majority. But the paper picked up the two-thirds majority required for membership on the second ballot, after statements in favor of its admission from Patty Calhoun, editor of Westword, and Tim Redmond, executive editor of the San Francisco Bay Guardian. It was Maui Time Weekly's third application for membership.

Nine board seats were up for election at Sunday’s annual meeting, including president and vice president as well as an at-large position.

Phoenix Media Communications Executive Editor Clif Garboden, was elected president; Andy Newman, editor of Pittsburgh City Paper, vice president; Westword’s Calhoun, to Editorial Committee Chair; Carol Flagg, advertising director of the Austin Chronicle, Advertising Chair; Neil Skene, senior vice president of Creative Loafing Inc., to an at-large seat; and Simon Mulverhill, publisher of the San Antonio Current, as Convention Chair. The 2004 annual convention will be held in The Venice of the Prairie.

Three board members were re-elected to their current seats: Robby Robbins, classified ad manager of Independent Weekly, for Classified Chair; Tim Redmond, executive editor of the San Francisco Bay Guardian for First Amendment Chair; and Fran Zankowski CEO of New Mass Media, Inc., Organization/Bylaws Chair.

AAN members also approved a $1.17 million budget for Fiscal Year 2004.